This is how iPhone records the sites you visit and how can you delete this history

This is how iPhone records the sites you visit, and how can you delete this history? We carry our iPhone everywhere. Or almost all. And our device knows it to the point where it has a history of the locations we frequently go to, called Places of Interest. Note that the iPhone has several location services, such as the one that allows us to use find my iPhone mode even when offline. If you want to know all the details of this function and how to delete visited sites from iPhone, we will tell you below.

What are the important places of iPhone?

Important Places: iPhone and iCloud-connected devices record where you’ve been, as well as the dates and times you visit, so it can learn about places that matter to you.

This data is end-to-end encrypted and cannot be read by Apple. They will be used to provide you with personalized services such as predictive traffic routing and to create better memories in Photos.

This is how Apple describes the Highlights functionality and privacy on the Location website. In principle, there is nothing to be afraid of with this data. The company provides encrypted production of its collections and does not have access to them.

This is how iPhone records the sites you visit and how can you delete this history

We already know that Apple advocates privacy as a fundamental right. But if you have any doubts about it, know that there is a way to delete and disable important places collected by your iPhone.

How to turn off and clear iPhone location history

There are those who do not trust their shadows when it comes to protecting their privacy. If you are dealing with this issue, you should know that you can check iPhone location history by following few steps:

This is how iPhone records the sites you visit and how can you delete this history
  1. On your iPhone, go to Settings > Privacy & Security.
  2. Then tap Location > System Services.
    Scroll down until you find Places of Interest.
  3. You will need to authenticate yourself to be able to enter.

In this menu, you can check how many records have been saved and the date range. In addition, iPhone location history shows the most recent location associated with a set of dates. The bad thing is we can’t check them all individually and we only have two options: turn off important places and clear iPhone’s location history.

At this point, it is a matter of preference. We can prevent further data collection by turning off iPhone’s location history and logging. We can also leave it active and delete what has been collected so far, a tradition we can repeat from time to time. Or leave it as it is, knowing that this function is active.

Leave a Comment